Facebook, earlier this month, launched Facebook Pay in the US. At the time of launch, Facebook Pay was available on Facebook and Messenger for fundraisers, in-game purchases, event tickets, person-to-person payments on Messenger and purchases from select Pages and businesses on Facebook Marketplace with the company promising to bring this functionality on to Instagram and WhatsApp soon. Now it seems that the tech giant is actively working to expand the reach of Facebook Pay to its social messaging app with iPhones getting the feature first.
According to a report by WABetaInfo, Facebook, the social media giant that owns WhatsApp, is actively working on bringing Facebook Pay to WhatsApp’s iOS based app. The screenshot shared by the blog site shows a separate section for Facebook Pay in WhatsApp wherein users can add bank accounts and other payment methods.
However, the blog site cautioned that this feature is still under development and that it would take some time for the company to roll out this feature to its users.
Apart from Facebook Pay, WhatsApp is also working on adding Blocked Contact Notice feature to its iOS based app. A similar feature is already in works for WhatsApp’s Android-based app. For those of you who aren’t sure, the Blocked Contact Notice feature when enabled would give a one-tap access to users to unblock a blocked contact. This option would appear in the form of a notification bubble in the individual chat window of the contact that has been blocked. Also, once the blocked contact has been unblocked, WhatsApp will show a similar notification bubble under the original bubble which notifies users that a contact has been blocked that the contact has been unblocked.
Separately, the popular social messaging app has also added a redesigned splash screen, redesigned read receipts, redesigned profile picture logo and group icon and registration notification feature on to its iOS based app.
The company has already started rolling out the registration notification feature to the beta users of its iOS based app. This feature essentially alerts users if someone tries to register a WhatsApp account with their phone number.